top of page

Grab-and-Go Breakfast: Oatmeal Bites


So, recently I was at the doctor and she says to me in the sweetest, like-we’re-bffs voice, “you are so close to your BMI weight. If you just ate breakfast every morning you’d probably lose weight! Awesome right?”

Yea, awesome! I thought. Then I realized, wait a minute… She’s telling me I need to lose weight! At first, I sort of wanted to kick her in the head but I knew she was 100% right. My pants have been uncomfortably tight these last few weeks and I know I could do a better job taking care of myself.

So I’ve been searching for EASY grab-and-go breakfast recipes that are healthy and delicious.

I came across these oatmeal bites and I think they’re going to become part of our regular Sunday ritual as we prepare for the week ahead. They’re ridiculously easy to make and my kids had a blast sprinkling their favorite toppings onto their muffins. Not only were they kid approved but, my southern boyfriend who likes to give me grief about my Midwest cooking style, even gave these the thumbs up.

I’m not sure yet if these oatmeal bites will help me lose weight but I’m willing to give it a go!

Oatmeal Bites

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs

  • ¼ cup canola oil

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar

  • ½ cup applesauce

  • 1 ½ cups milk (skim, whole – it’s up to you)

  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

  • ½ tsp. salt

  • 1 tbsp. ground cinnamon

  • 3 cups old fashioned rolled oats

  • 2 tsp. baking powder

  • Optional: favorite toppings (fruit, nuts, chocolate chips, etc.)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with paper muffin liners.

  2. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, oil, and brown sugar until sugar is dissolved. Add applesauce, milk, vanilla, salt, and cinnamon. Whisk until well combined. Stir in oats and baking powder.

  3. Fill the muffin tin with ¼ cup of the oat mixture in each muffin cup. Add your favorite toppings. (We went with dried craisins, fresh blueberries, chocolate chips, and chopped walnuts.) Push the toppings into the oat mixture with a spoon.

  4. Bake for 30 minutes. Let them cool for 5 minutes before eating. Store in an airtight container or freeze in a Ziploc storage bag.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page