top of page

5 Ways to Focus on Self-Care


We all lead incredibly busy lives. Taking care of work, children, our partner, parents, friends, and countless other obligations. Why is it, we always seem to put ourselves dead last? No more excuses! Here are five easy, almost-no-effort ways to focus on self-care.

Daily Indulgence - Mine is coffee. No matter what, I make sure I enjoy at least one steaming hot cup of coffee, sweetened with just a splash of creamer. It's a marvelous treat I can always count on looking forward to.

Shower - No seriously, get your butt in the shower. If your house is like mine, most likely a child will interrupt with a question or the dog might make sure you've got some not-so-needed company but I always feel better, ready to take on the day if I've showered.

Find a Hobby - This can be anything! Your hobby of choice could be as simple as finding a little time to indulge in a good book. For me, it's a weekly yoga class. It's on my calendar every week, 5:45 p.m. on Wednesdays and is non-negotiable.

Brain Break - I hijacked this term from my daughter's school teacher because the phrase perfectly describes itself. If you're feeling overwhelmed, unmotivated, give yourself a brain break. Again, creative liberties are welcome here! Take a few minutes to color, call a friend, do some jumping jacks, anything that breaks up the monotony.

Listen to Music - Music seems to have actual magical properties. No matter if you're happy, sad, melancholy, or joyful, there's music to feed your soul - so basically, anytime is a good time to play or listen to music.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page