top of page

Mama, You are Worthy ⎜ Redefining Your Self-Worth


Let’s get real honest and ugly for a moment and talk about how we define our self-worth. I’ve been struggling with this one in the worst way the last few weeks. My house is a disaster of a mess, I’m not working outside the house at the moment, my oldest is struggling with schoolwork, and I’m not real confident my youngest will ever use the potty.

Far too often, I define my self-worth by how clean my house is, how I look physically, my 9 to 5 job, my kids behavior, etc. Sound familiar? I really struggle with defining my self-worth beyond these measures.

I think we all struggle with this because defining our self-worth by these standards is easy. It’s easy to see a messy or clean house, it’s easy to see an ideal or overweight body. But seeing your true self-worth is an internal exploration, one that takes extra effort. It’s difficult.

So, I made the extra effort and examined some ways to think about self-worth in ways that truly matter, because we are all more than our struggles in parenting, a clean house, or physical appearance.

Self-acceptance – This means accepting who you are, in this moment, and acknowledging you are enough. Stop the internal dialogue of, “if I could just lose 15 pounds”. Just stop it. You are enough, just as you are, at this moment.

Meaningful relationships – Hopefully, every single one of us can say we have at least one meaningful relationship with another human on this planet. This is probably with someone who loves you unconditionally and you love the same. You don’t have to do anything to receive their affection, and do you know why – because you are worthy of it, just by being you.

Shine your light – I cherish the Sanskrit phrase, “Namaste”, which means, “the light in me bows to the light in you”. Every time I hear this in yoga, I’m reminded we all have this internal light within us, a passion. I believe this light has a purpose; it’s the fuel that drives us and gives our lives meaning. What we do with it is up to us.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page